Solid Waste

Physical Address: 5 Landfill Road, Franklinton, NC 27525

(919) 496-5002
Mailing Address:113 Market Street
Louisburg, NC 27549

Solid Waste

CURRENT PROGRAM:  Franklin County provides twelve convenience centers for solid waste collection from Franklin County residents. The sites are located at various strategic areas of the county, with each county resident being within approximately 10 miles of a site. Each site has at least one compactor unit and several open top containers for waste. Recycling containers are also available at each convenience site.

Franklin County owns all solid waste and recycling containers at each site. Franklin County manages each site, and has a paid employee on site every day. Convenience sites are closed on Thursday and Sunday.

Waste Management provides the hauling of the solid waste containers from sites 1,2,3,4,9,10, and 11 to the Franklin County Solid Waste Transfer Station. Franklin County provides the hauling of solid waste containers from sites 5,6,7,8, and 12 to the transfer station.

Private solid waste haulers provide house to house pick up service (unincorporated areas of Franklin County).

Private haulers include:

  • Waste Industries
  • Waste Management
  • Glenwood Alston
  • Mickey Finn
  • James Hartsfield
  • Edward Street

A portion of property taxes collected (approximately .065 cents) funds the Franklin County collection process. Each person that owns real or personal property pays taxes. The municipalities are included in the property taxes.

Franklin County has a Solid Waste Ordinance. The ordinance regulates the handling and disposal of all types of solid waste. The ordinance also regulates the operation and the intended use of both the Solid Waste Transfer Station and the twelve county convenience centers. A copy can be obtained by calling the Solid Waste Department at 919-496-5002.