Economic Development

(919) 554-1863
228 Park Ave
Youngsville, NC 27596

Economic Development


Franklin County’s public school system and a wide variety of local and regional colleges and universities provide learning opportunities for residents at every life stage and educate the county’s workforce to meet the jobs needs of today and tomorrow.

Public Schools

Franklin County Schools serves nearly 8,700 K-12 students a year through eight elementary, three middle and three high schools located across the county, as well as a variety of special centers and programs.

Colleges and Universities

Thirty-seven colleges and educational institutions are located within a two-hour drive of Franklin County. Among them are three world-class research universities: Duke University (40 miles),  North Carolina State University (30 miles) and University of North Carolina at Chapel Hill (50 miles).  Additional higher education institutions within the area include:  Peace College, Shaw University, Meredith College, North Carolina Central University and Saint Augustine's College.

Louisburg College, the oldest junior college in the country and the only two-year residential college in North Carolina, offers three associates degrees (arts, sciences and business) and a firm foundation for students who pursue four-year degrees at other institutions.

Vance-Granville Community College, part of the N.C. Community College System, offers higher education degrees and comprehensive workforce training through four regional campuses, including one in Franklin County near Louisburg, the county seat.  The early college high schools developed on the campuses of Vance-Granville Community College represents partnerships between Franklin, Granville, Vance, and Warren County Schools and Vance-Granville Community College.   The early college high school blends the high school and college programs beginning in grade nine such that all students are provided the experiences, support, and opportunities to complete a North Carolina University Prep Diploma, an Associate degree or two years of transferable college credit at no cost to the student, within five or fewer years of starting high school.